Pink Floyd: The Division Bell (2LPs)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
0.00 KGS

Product Overview

Pink Floyd reissues the 1994 multi-million selling album The Division Bell on 180g Vinyl Double LP. 'The Division Bell' was the last studio album to be released by the band: David Gilmour, Nick Mason and Richard Wright.

Some bands turn into shorthand for a certain sound or style, and Pink Floyd belongs among that elite group. The very name suggests something specific: an elastic, echoing, mind-bending sound that evokes the chasms of space. Pink Floyd grounded that limitless sound with exacting explorations of mundane matters of ego, mind, memory, and heart, touching upon madness, alienation, narcissism, and society on their concept albums of the '70s. Of these concept albums, Dark Side of the Moon resonated strongest, earning new audiences year after year, decade after a decade, and its longevity makes sense. That 1973 concept album distilled the wild psychedelic of their early years -- that brief, heady period when they were fronted by Syd Barrett-- into a slow, sculpted, widescreen epic masterminded by Roger Waters, the bassist who was the band's de facto leader in the '70s. Waters fueled the band's golden years, conceiving such epics as Wish You Were Here and The Wall, but the band survived his departure in the '80s, with guitarist David Gilmour stepping to forefront on A Momentary Lapse of Reason and The Division Bell. Throughout the years, drummer Nick Mason and keyboardist Rick Wright appeared in some capacity, and the band's sonic signature was always evident: a wide, expansive sound that was instantly recognizable as their own yet was adopted by all manner of bands, from guitar-worshipping metal-heads to freaky, hippie, ambient electronic duos. Unlike almost any of their peers, Pink Floyd played to both sides of the aisle: they were rooted in the blues but their heart belonged to the future, a dichotomy that made them a quintessentially modern 20th century band.

"The second post-Roger Waters Pink Floyd album is less forced and more of a group effort than A Momentary Lapse of Reason -- keyboard player Richard Wright is back to full bandmember status and has co-writing credits on five of the 11 songs, even getting lead vocals on 'Wearing the Inside Out.' Some of David Gilmour's lyrics (co-written by Polly Samson and Nick Laird-Clowes of the Dream Academy) might be directed at Waters, notably 'Lost for Words' and 'A Great Day for Freedom,' with its references to 'the wall' coming down, although the more specific subject is the Berlin Wall and the fall of Communism. In any case, there is a vindictive, accusatory tone to songs such as 'What Do You Want From Me' and 'Poles Apart,' and the overarching theme, from the album title to the graphics to the 'I-you' pronouns in most of the lyrics, has to do with dichotomies and distinctions, with 'I' always having the upper hand. Musically, Gilmour, Nick Mason, and Wright have largely turned the clock back to the pre-Dark Side of the Moon Floyd, with slow tempos, sustained keyboard chords, and guitar solos with a lot of echo." - William Ruhlmann,

180 Gram Heavyweight Vinyl
Double Vinyl
Remastered from the Original Analogue Tapes by James Guthrie, Joel Plante and Bernie Grundman
Gatefold Jacket
Original UK release date: March 1994

Side 1:

1. Cluster One
2. What Do You Want From Me
3. Poles Apart
Side 2:
1. Marooned
2. A Great Day For Freedom
3. Wearing The Inside Out
Side 3:
1. Take It Back
2. Coming Back To Life
3. Keep Talking
Side 4:
1. Lost For Words
2. High Hopes


(No reviews yet) Write a Review